FIFA has revealed the candidates shortlisted for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022.

Al-Nassr recent singing, Cristiano Ronaldo was not among the 14 players FIFA nominated for the award, which honors the best performers from the previous year.Numerous notable events occurred in 2022 at the club and international levels. From Bayern's record-breaking tenth consecutive Bundesliga title and Erling Haaland's raging start to life in England to Senegal's first Africa Cup of Nations victory and Morocco's first appearance in the World Cup's final four in Qatar, African teams have had a successful year. Lionel Messi finally held the World Cup trophy as the year's best football action came to a close, but will that be enough to earn the Argentine the prestigious FIFA individual award?

There are both well-known candidates and newcomers on the list of 14 contenders for the 2022 award. Along with Ballon d'Or winner Karim Benzema, Messi and Mbappe are included, as are young players Jude Bellingham and Achraf Hakimi. Ronaldo is notably absent from the list, but Julian Alvarez of Manchester City, who shone in Qatar but joined the English powerhouses just over halfway through the year, may be its most unexpected inclusion. 

The Nominees are:

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: 

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Debinha (Brazil / North Carolina Courage)

Jessie Fleming (Canada / Chelsea FC Women)

Ada Hegerberg (Norway / Olympique Lyonnais)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

Beth Mead (England / Arsenal WFC)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

Alex Morgan (USA / Orlando Pride / San Diego Wave)

Lena Oberdorf (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alexandra Popp (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alexia Putellas (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Keira Walsh (England / Manchester City WFC / FC Barcelona)

Leah Williamson (England / Arsenal WFC)

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: 

Julián Álvarez (Argentina / River Plate / Manchester City FC)

Jude Bellingham (England / BV Borussia 09 Dortmund) 

Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid CF)


Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)

Erling Haaland (Norway / BV Borussia 09 

Dortmund / Manchester City FC)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco / Paris Saint-Germain) 

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern


München / FC Barcelona)

Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool FC / FC Bayern 


Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain)

Luka Modrić (Croatia / Real Madrid CF)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC) 

Vinícius Junior (Brazil / Real Madrid CF)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: 

Sonia Bompastor (France / Olympique Lyonnais)


Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

Bev Priestman (England / Canadian National Team)

Pia Sundhage (Sweden / Brazilian National Team)

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany / German National Team)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / English National Team)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: 

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy / Real Madrid CF)

Didier Deschamps (France / French National Team)

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City FC) 

Walid Regragui (Morocco / Wydad AC / Moroccan National Team)

Lionel Scaloni (Argentina / Argentinian National Team) 

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: 

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)

Mary Earps (England / Manchester United WFC) 


Christiane Endler (Chile / Olympique Lyonnais)

Merle Frohms (Germany / Eintracht Frankfurt / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain / FC Barcelona)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: 

Álisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool FC) 

Yassine Bounou (Morocco / Sevilla FC)

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid CF)

Ederson (Brazil / Manchester City FC)

Emiliano Martínez (Argentina / Aston Villa FC)


The FIFA Puskás Award:

Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor v. Göztepe Spor Kulübü [Süper Lig] (22 May 2022)

Amandine Henry (France): FC Barcelona v. Olympique Lyonnais [UEFA Women's Champions League] (21 May 2022)

Théo Hernández (France): AC Milan v. Atalanta [Serie A] (15 May 2022)

Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq U23 v. Australia U23 [AFC U23 Asian Cup] (4 June 2022)

Kylian Mbappé (France): Argentina v. France [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022] (18 December 2022) 

Francisco González Metilli (Argentina): Club 

Atlético Central Córdoba v. Club Atlético Rosario Central [Primera División] (1 August 2022)

Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań v. Stal Rzeszów [PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa] (6 November 2022)

Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona v. Villarreal CF [Liga F] (2 April 2022)

Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille v. PAOK Thessaloniki [UEFA Europa Conference League] (7 April 2022)

Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil v. Serbia [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022] (24 November 2022)

Alessia Russo (England): England v. Sweden [UEFA Women's EURO 2022] (26 July 2022) 

The Best FIFA Fan Award:

Abdullah Al Salmi (Saudi Arabia): Abdullah journeyed by foot from his hometown of Jeddah to Qatar, hiking across the Saudi Arabian desert, to support his national team at the FIFA World Cup.

Argentinian National Team fans (Argentina): Argentina fans travelled to Qatar in impressive numbers to provide incredible support for their team's ultimately victorious FIFA World Cup campaign, and millions of fans then welcomed their heroes home to Buenos Aires and across the country. 

Japanese National Team fans (Japan): Japan fans earned worldwide recognition for their tradition of staying behind to help clean the stadium after World Cup games.

FIFA chooses the players who make up the final shortlist based on their athletic prowess, both on the team and individually, as well as their general demeanor on and off the field.

Then, among those nominees, votes are cast by journalists, national team captains, coaches, and, as of October 2016, the general public.

Before a winner is selected from the votes cast from those four sections, each group receives 25% of the vote.

Fans must register on the FIFA website in order to cast a ballot. Once they have signed up, FIFA members can cast their votes for the top three men's players.

Each candidate is listed on the FIFA website along with their individual and team achievements and the positions 1, 2, and 3. Number One will be regarded as the top choice, No.2 second choice and No.3 third choice. Users then have to click 'Submit your vote' at the bottom of the page and the vote will be counted.

Comments (0)

Leave Your Comment

Our Recommend Ads

What we recommend.

Become a web developer
Become a web developer
Sure trending
Learn Web Design and development
Learn Web Design and development
Sure trending
Get a website for your brand